The Saturniidae (Lepidoptera) of Singapore.
Copyright © 2002, 2003 Ulrich Paukstadt      BACK Main Menue

Introduction: The Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, as well as the sultanate of Brunei are forming East Malaysia, while West Malaysia, also known under the name of Peninsular Malaysia, is divided into the provinces of Perlis, Kedah, Perak, Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Selangor, the Federal Territory Kuala Lumpur, Negeri Sembilan, Malaka, and Johor. The island of Singapore off the southeastern tip of Peninsular Malaysia is geographically located in the center of Malaysia, just between West Malaysia and East Malaysia. Singapore represents an independent state.

Specimens figured herein are preserved in the Collection Laela H. Paukstadt (Wilhelmshaven, Germany), if not otherwise stated. Digital pictures were taken by Ulrich Paukstadt (Wilhelmshaven, Germany), if not otherwise stated. The check list might be not free of any errors in determinations, spelling of names, authors, publication years, and/or incomplete. Any hints, proposals, and/or corrections are highly wellcome and may be send to the webmaster (e-mail: The check list is updated frequently. Presently 3 taxa of 3 genera of the family Saturniidae (Lepidoptera) are recorded for Singapore. Those are:

C H E C K   L I S T

Superfamily Bombycoidea Latreille, 1802
Family Saturniidae Boisduval, 1837 ("1834")
Subfamily Saturniinae Boisduval, 1837 ("1834")

Tribe Attacini Blanchard, 1840

Genus Attacus Linnaeus, 1767

  1. Attacus atlas (Linnaeus, 1758)

Genus Samia Hübner, 1819 ("1816")
  2. Samia tetrica (Rebel, 1924)

Tribe Saturniini Boisduval, 1837 ("1834")

Genus Cricula Walker, 1855

  3. Cricula trifenestrata (Helfer, 1837)
      Cricula trifenestrata javana Watson, 1913

Genus Antheraea Hübner, 1819 ("1816")
Subgenus Antheraea Hübner, 1819 ("1816")

mylitta/frithi-group (sensu U. Paukstadt et al., 1999)
frithi-subgroup (sensu Nässig, 1991)

  4. Antheraea (A.) larissa (Westwood, 1847)
      Antheraea (A.) larissa ridlyi Moore, 1892

BACK Main Menue